Beckett List

Standard

Rob Beckett: Mouth of the South.
The Olympia Theatre.
Sunday, February 5th.

I’m sure you have seen Rob Beckett on various T.V. shows. “8 out of 10 cats”, “Mock the Week” & “Prisoner Cell Block H”.  His funny enough on these shows and I thought might as well go see him. If for nothing else I can write a blog about it. (This blog is now costing me money, thanks.)

I went to the box office an hour before the show to pick up my pre-booked tickets. As I was getting them, in walked Rob Beckett. He was asking the box office staff how to get into the venue and ask me was I buying tickets to his show.

I said, “there are loads left, selling them at half price.” We both laughed and he offered me V.I.P tickets to show. I also hung out with him after the show and he brought me on as his support act for the rest of the tour. We also fell in love and bought our first dog together and called him whopper (In-joke between us).

Well, that might happen if I had said anything. I stood there like a dweeb star struck over someone who’s not famous enough to be on “I’m a celebrity get me out of here.” God know what would happen if I ever meet Will Smith. I probably combust.

The show was in the Olympia theatre. For as long as I can remember every time you buy a ticket you get charged an extra one euro to go to the restoration fund for the Olympia.
I have been going here years and the place still looks exactly the same. I assume this one euro extra fee is going to the mangers whores account.

Olympia

Thanks to the 1 euro donation per ticket we manage to paint the wall in the corner. Also, I a bought a new BMW.

The support act was Karl Spain. An Irish comedian who’s been on the go for years. I have been lucky enough to see and support Karl over the years. He started by doing a bit of crowd work. It didn’t really seem to go that well.  Karl finished with a story. Sadly it’s story he told on T.V. a few times over the years (The one about being a kid in the bathtub and his sister’s friends pulling his mickey). He finished with a whimper but onto the headline act.

Rob comes out and straight away a whole row of people stood up and walked out. (they were going to the toilet but come on, could that not be done during Karl?.) Rob went straight into crowd work. I’m not sure if it was the venue or the crowd. But chatting to the audience was not working tonight and Rob did a lot of it. When he got to this material there so much chatting and moving from the audience the gig was more like a Laughter Lounge show.

For Those that don’t know. The Laughter Lounge is the like the Irish version of the Jongleurs comedy club. If you don’t know either of them is basically a rowdy comedy night in a big room that’s let Stag/Hen parties in. Filled with non-comedy fans just looking for a night out.

Which not what you want after you pay thirty euro to watch a show. Things got worse in the second half. A drunk loud dickhead who was near us just shouted out “Dentist” at Rob. Because Rob has big teeth this person thought it would be funny to say Dentist to Rob and nothing else.  I think this show’s the level of intelligence this person has.

I can blame some of the shortcomings of the gig on the lack of atmosphere and audience behaviour but some of it rest on Mr Beckett shoulders also. There was too much crowd interaction that went nowhere and his material was good but not great.

All in all a three out of five-star show.

If you disagree or were that dickhead who shouted “Dentist” please contact me
@SlumberingJ on twitter.

Catch me live when I MC the Battle of the Axe on March 9. The ha’penny bar, Dublin from 9 pm.

Leave a Reply

