Januray/February Comedy Shows.

Standard

I was scanning the comedy gig listings and saw the unreal level of top notch comedy shows coming up. I decided to do a quick list of the shows you should go see.  I have listed them in chronology order. Let’s kick off with:

pop-the-cherry

Jan 9. Duane Duggan & Niall Farrell: One for the Road. Whelan’s.

Duane & Niall are pretty new to the comedy circuit but in their short time, they played all the major Irish comedy festivals and establish one of the best comedy clubs in “Pop the Cherry” at Whelan’s on Monday nights. This is their last show before they head off to join ISIS and fight the western overlords. Or there going to live in England for a bit.
I forget which one they told me there doing.

emman-n-poster-p

Jan 20. Emman Idama: E-man of the house. Whelan’s.

You might have seen Emman (Called E-man by his friends) on those end of year shows on RTE. “Here someone from Fair City talking about Brexit.” His easily one of the funniest on those shows and recently featured on the Des Bishop “This is Ireland” programme.
In the past few years, he’s worked incredibly hard (Gigging everywhere) and making it to the finals all the major comedy competitions in the U.K. & Ireland. It’s all been leading up to his first solo show.

alison-spittle-6-p

Jan 22. Alison Spittle: Discovers Hawaii. Whelan’s.

You might recall me mentioning Alison show in my Edinburgh preview guide. I didn’t make it to the show as it was sold out while I was in Edinburgh. That should tell you something, having sold out shows at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival it’s harder than making a good film based on a video game. “Tetris: The Movie. The Blocks are Back.”
The show already has great review’s and is well road tested. Catch (as far as I know) the only Irish performance of it.

rob-b

Feb 5. Rob Becket: Live. Olympia Theatre.

The first person on the list who I don’t know personally. But we could still become friends, right? I sent him 100 e-mails & private messages, I’m sure he’ll get back to me soon.
You might have seen Rob on his numerous T.V. appearances like “8 out of 10 cats” & “Mock the week”. He’s also probably done T.V. that none of us would watch, like:
“Chanel 5 When Pets Fall Over.” or “ITV 2 When Junkies Attack”.

ed-samon

Feb 9/10. Edwin Sammon Vs Cancer. Whelan’s.

I have been lucky enough to be on the same bill as Edwin many times over the years. Just recently we did a gig in Mountmellick (It’s like Middle Earth but they have the internet and a chip shop.)
I got a taste of this show that night & can attest how good it is. Ed is one of the most well regard comedians on the circuit and recently his profile has been raised due to his work on “Republic of Telly” & “Bridget & Eamon”.

billy

Feb 18. Billy Connolly: High Horse. 3 Arena.

I don’t have to say anything about Billy Connoly. A legend in stand-up comedy. At 74 his already sold the 3 Arena out for two dates, Feb 16/17. This Friday (06/01) tickets go on sale for the third and final date at the 3 Arena. Expect another sellout.

john-colleary-11-p

Feb 19. John Colleary: Live. Whelan’s.

John has co-written and starred in “The Savage Eye” & “Irish Pictorial Weekly”. Again I been lucky enough to be on the same shows as John and can say how good he is. Easily one of the best in the country. If you go to the show based on my recommendation and don’t like it, you can come punch me in the face afterwards.

1456872098russell-howard

Feb 22-26. Russel Howard: Round the world. Vicar Street.

This is my 14-year-old nephew favourite comedian and yes that’s including me. I don’t even make his top ten.
If you love him and his upbeat life is good style comedy go see his show. If you hate him don’t go to his show. You’ll have an awful time.
I mean why would you buy a ticket for someone you don’t like? you mad bastard.

stuart-goldsmith-comparedtowhat-p

Feb 26. Stuart Goldsmith: Compared to what. Whelan’s.

Stuart has appeared on loads of T.V. shows but if you’re really into your comedy you probably know him best via his podcast, The Comedian’s Comedian, where he interviews major figures in the stand-up scene. We shared a venue in Edinburgh and he was always lovely. It did get awkward sometimes as the bucket for his shows was filled with notes from the crowd who loved him and my bucket was empty with only my tears and broken dreams in it.

Here are the links to the venues to buy tickets to any of these shows. If you have read this far please go to one or as many as you can. Stand-up comedy doesn’t work without a crowd. I should know I done plenty of gigs to four people. The more you support live comedy the better. Don’t forget to also check out some weekly comedy clubs. I post links to a couple of them below.

http://www.whelanslive.com/

http://www.olympia.ie/

http://www.vicarstreet.com/

http://www.ticketmaster.ie/Billy-Connolly-tickets/artist/744104

and some weekly comedy clubs to check out:

http://battleoftheaxe.com/

http://www.theinternationalcomedyclub.com/

You can catch me at the Hardy Har comedy club, in Bray Co. Wicklow on January 12.
As for the 100 time I enter a comedy competition with the hopes of finally winning one.

Follow me on twitter @SlumberingJ

Leave a Reply

